Something new to excite my crochet soul?

CupcakePixel1.JPG

The first image of pixel crochet that I came across and really inspired me to look further into this type of project Cupcake Pixel Blanket by Repeat Crafter Me http://www.repeatcrafterme.com/2015/05/crochet-cupcake-pixel-blanket.html

In an effort to breath new life into my crafty self, I took to the Internet to see what could possibly be out there to inspire me.  I’ve always been a blanket lover, in that I appreciate a beautiful handmade blanket. When I dusted off my Ravelry queue, there were so many blankets that I haven’t even had the chance to think about making.  If one of them had inspired me enough to pick up my needles or hook, I probably wouldn’t have been searching online in the first place.  No, I need something new and different.

That said, I must sadly admit that I haven’t actually finished many blankets.  My love of knitting and crochet has always been more wrapped up in the actual process instead of the finished project.  Maybe it is time I change.  I mean, I have certainly finished the occasional baby blanket, but never a full sized project.  I keep telling myself that now is the time to turn over a new leaf in that regard, but the honest truth is that I don’t know if that will actually happen.  So in an effort to regain my mojo, if you will, I will simply just start and continue as I (hopefully) mean to go.  And if that gets me to a finished project, even better  And if I just happen to start a project, but it never gets finished, so be it as well.

My newest realization is that I am entirely too hard on myself in many regards.  Either I’m not living up to my own usually unrealistic expectations of myself or I’m just overwhelmed by the tasks I have outlined for myself.  This may very well be one of those occasions.

So, what piqued my interest as I browsed through pictures online?  Pixel crochet!  I was intrigued by how just blocks of single colors could be used to create a whole, overall picture.  All of the pixel crochet projects I came across were either of video game related elements (think Mario Brothers for Nintendo and the like), cute cartoon characters, or some object or food.  While I particularly really liked a few of these designs, nothing quite sang to me and demanded that I make it.

TOTORO-CHART.jpg

Here is an example of the graph grid style for pixel crochet from Geek with a Hook. How cool is this? http://geekwithahook.blogspot.com/2014/10/pixel-crochet-blankets-wip-charts.html

So I started looking through websites about pixel crochet that explained how it was a design in a grid.  What else is a design in a grid, but cross stitch!

I have my answer – I simply need to find a pattern for cross stitch that I love and will hopefully not be overwhelming.  I will say that I am drawn to a more modern, geometric pattern so that is what I will be looking for!  Wish me luck!

PixalatedBlanket.JPG

Pixalated No. 1 Absolutely love the geometric style of this pattern layout. Definitely the direction I want to head in for my project. http://babylovebrand.net/2013/10/30/pixelated-no-1/

Leave a comment